Governance and Committees


NSW Therapeutic Advisory Group was initially established in 1988. In 1994, NSW TAG was incorporated as a not-for-profit independent association. The association receives its core funding from NSW Health. NSW TAG provides six-monthly reports of its activities to the Clinical Excellence Commission, who act as the NSW Health managers of the core funding contract.

NSW TAG’s members are clinical pharmacologists, pharmacists and other clinicians from NSW public hospitals and affiliated academic units. Affiliate membership is also available to interstate colleagues and private hospitals. The membership is organised into two broad groups: TAG General members who represent the larger public teaching hospitals in NSW and TAGNet members who represent smaller metropolitan, regional and remote NSW public hospitals.  Meetings for TAG General and TAGNet members are held bi-monthly.

The Management Board has seven members and is elected each year at the Annual General Meeting. It meets four times a year. It is responsible for governing NSW TAG and ensuring it meets its functions and responsibilities. There is a Finance Sub-Committee, which is chaired by the NSW TAG Treasurer. The Sub-Committee meets quarterly and provides the Management Board with assistance, advice and oversight with respect to NSW TAG’s financial reporting, risk and control and external audit functions.

In order to achieve its objectives, NSW TAG has a number of Working Committees and Discussion Groups including:

  • NSW TAG Editorial Committee
  • NSW TAG High Costs Medicines Working Group
  • medSMART Support Group

NSW TAG projects or program initiatives are informed by expert advisory committees with oversight managed by the relevant NSW TAG Working Committees.

NSW TAG is a member of the Council of Australian Therapeutic Advisory Groups (CATAG). NSW TAG also manages the business operations of CATAG.

NSW TAG is based in Darlinghurst, Sydney and is managed on a day-to-day basis by the Executive Officer, Dr Sasha Bennett.


Our Committees

Membership of NSW TAG Management Board

Professor Christopher Liddle (Chair), Professor of Clinical Pharmacology and Hepatology Medicine, The University of Sydney’s Westmead Clinical School and Chair, Western Sydney LHD Drug and Therapeutics Committee.

Professor Sarah Hilmer (Vice Chair), Chair Royal North Shore and Ryde Hospitals Drug and Therapeutics Committee and Head of Department Clinical Pharmacology and Senior Staff Specialist Aged Care, Royal North Shore Hospital and University of Sydney

Professor Joanne Brien (Treasurer), Professor of Clinical Pharmacy, The University of Sydney and Chair, St Vincent’s Hospital Human Research and Ethics Committee

Ms Terry Melocco, Director of Pharmacy, St Vincent’s Public Hospital, Sydney

Ms Rosemary Burke, Sydney Local Health District Director of Pharmacy and Chief Pharmacy Information Officer  


Membership of the NSW TAG Finance Committee

Professor Joanne Brien, (Chair), Professor of Clinical Pharmacy, The University of Sydney and Chair, St Vincent’s Hospital Human Research and Ethics Committee

Ms Terry Melocco, Member, NSW TAG Management Board

Prof Christopher Liddle, Chair, NSW TAG Management Board

Dr Sasha Bennett, Executive Officer, NSW TAG

Ms Sue Burton, Business Manager, NSW TAG


TAG General Membership

Professor Christopher Liddle (Chair)

DTC Chairs and Secretaries (or their delegates) of principal referral, paediatric specialist and tertiary referral hospitals in NSW


TAGNet Membership

Professor Ian Whyte (Chair), Director, Clinical Toxicology & Pharmacology, Calvary Mater Newcastle

DTC Chairs and Secretaries (or their delegates) of major and district hospitals in NSW


Membership of NSW TAG Editorial Committee

Professor Sarah Hilmer (Chair)

Dr Sasha Bennett, Executive Officer, NSW TAG

A/Professor Madlen Gazarian, Clinical Pharmacologist and Paediatric Rheumatologist

Dr Jonathan Brett, Staff Specialist, Clinical Pharmacology and Addiction Medicine, St. Vincent’s Hospital

Ms Sarah Dinh, QUM Project Officer, NSW TAG

Ms Elizabeth Anderson, Westmead Medicines Information Service, Westmead Hospital

Ms Christine Coorey, Senior Clinical Pharmacist, Westmead Hospital

Ms Michelle Jenkins, Senior Pharmacist, Paediatrics, John Hunter Children’s Hospital

Mr Russell Levy, Director of Pharmacy, Royal prince Alfred Hospital

Ms Felicity Prior, Director, Hunter Drug Information Services

Ms Anne Steffensen, Deputy Director of Pharmacy, Prince of Wales Hospital


NSW TAG medSMART support group

  • Visit the webpage here